Perry, William
Jamestown Concerto

1.     I. London 1606. The Virginia Company 00:04:12
2.     II. Settlements Along the River 00:04:56
3.     III. The Long Winters 00:04:40
4.     IV. Pocahontas in London 00:05:45
5.     V. Jamestown: Four Hundred Years On 00:05:07

Shakespeare, William
Henry VII, Act 3: Orpheus with his Lute Made Trees

6.     Henry VII, Act 3: Orpheus with his Lute Made Trees 00:00:52


Schuman, William
A Song of Orpheus

7.     A Song of Orpheus 00:23:04


Thomson, Virgil
Cello Concerto

8.   I. Rider on the Plains 00:07:59
9.   II. Variations on a Southern Hymn 00:09:09
10.   III. Children's Games 00:06:25


Total Playing Time: 01:12:09

PERRY, W.: Jamestown Concerto / SCHUMAN, W.: A Song of Orpheus / THOMSON, V.: Cello Concerto (Hanani)

This recording presents three important yet infrequently heard American cello works. It is the first modern recording of William Schuman’s A Song of Orpheus; the Virgil Thomson Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in its original full orchestration has not been recorded since the 1950s; and William Perry’sJamestown Concerto is receiving its world première recording. All three composers worked extensively in art song, opera or musical theatre, and their concertos, while technically demanding, emphasize the lyric qualities of the cello, the instrument that most closely identifies with the human voice. The music is distinctly American, optimistic and outgoing, while intentionally touching on the roots of the American experience.

Jamestown Concerto American Music for Cello & Orchestra

  • $14.00